Mentor Coaching for ICF ACC Credential

I believe that the world doesn’t just need more coaches. But that the world needs more coaching who work with presence, with flexibility and with a deep confidence that comes from doing the work on ourselves first.

This course is designed as a helpful step towards it.

Having George with his wealth of experience and knowledge alongside me throughout has really helped me increase my confidence as I build my coaching practice.

Why Mentor Coaching?

Here’s the lay of the land.

Finding continued success as a coach relies principally on how effective your coaching is.

In a busy marketplace, you will be defined by your competence, your skill and how beneficial your clients find your coaching.

The most helpful way to display your competence and experience to others is to attain a credential. The most well-known and recognised worldwide credential is with the ICF.

This program provides you with some of the key requirements, support and resources to obtain your ACC credential with the ICF

-              7 hours group mentor coaching

-              3 hours individual mentor coaching

-              Video course guiding you through the process

-              Live coaching with feedback

-              Coaching demonstrations from George

What exactly is ‘Mentor Coaching’?

It is a confusing phrase, I know. Mentor Coaching is a term popularised by the ICF. It specifically involves receiving feedback on your coaching – either live or recorded – by a more experiences and qualified coach. With the ICF, this feedback is aligned to their 8 core competencies.

In some senses it is similar to supervision. But it prioritises the performance of the coach, the in the moment experience of coaching.

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of George's mentoring programme. In the group sessions, it was very useful to observe other participants' coaching styles and to witness George's own deep, lucid and effective coaching. 

Both in the group and individual sessions, I found our discussions around various aspects of coaching thought provoking and I was able to find more clarity around some key questions I had. 

How legit are you?

I’ll be your host and Mentor Coach throughout the whole process.

I have over 1,000 hours of coaching under my belt, and I’ve been through the ICF process myself for both ACC and PCC credentials. I’ve provided thousands of hours of coach training and evaluation to many hundreds of participants all around the world. As well, I’ve been through a Mentor Coaching course and PCC marker training.

I am a supervisor to coaches at different stages of their journey across the globe. Both for individual and external coaches, as well as in-house supervision to coaches within organisations in the corporate, public and charity/NGO sectors.

In the years I’ve been running it, each participant from this program who has applied for their has successfully achieved the ACC credential. Indeed, some find it so helpful that they come back to go through the program again.

My contracting has got stronger. It has got slower, it has got longer. I don’t rush it.

There has not been one session I’ve been in where I haven’t learnt something more that I could do. Or a tweak of a word. Or a pause or a silence. It is so valuable to be able to experiment, to try without judgement and without fear.

The Program

It Includes:

-              7 hours of group mentor coaching across three sessions over three months

-              3 hours of 1:1 mentor coaching

-              Video course ICF application and assessment process

Total Investment: £1,095

Dates

All times UK, All sessions online via Zoom:

Winter 2024/25

January 10th, 2-430pm

February 7th, 2-430pm

March 7th, 2-4pm

+

2 x Individual 90 minute 1:1 sessions

Spring 2025

March 14th, 2-430pm

April 25th, 2-430pm

May 23rd, 2-4pm

+

2 x Individual 90 minute 1:1 sessions

Summer 2025

May 9th, 2-430pm

June 13th, 2-430pm

July 11th, 2-4pm

+

2 x Individual 90 minute 1:1 sessions

Autumn 2025

September 12th, 2-430pm

October 10th, 2-430pm

November 21st, 2-4pm

+

2 x Individual 90 minute 1:1 sessions

Application Process

1)    Express your interest here

2)    I’ll be back in touch to arrange a call and conversation

3)    Confirm your place on the program

Thank you George for your incredibly valuable mentor coaching, which helped me gain more clarity and confidence regarding the ICF standards.

Register Your Interest Here

FAQs

What is required by the ICF?

To achieve ACC with the ICF the coach is required to receive 10 hours of Mentor Coaching over a minimum period of 3 months. A minimum of 3 of these must be 1:1, while the rest can be in a group setting.

How is the program delivered?

The course and all sessions will be delivered via Zoom and facilitated by myself. My approach is characterised by a supportive environment with plenty of stretch, challenge and ‘learning by doing’.

Can I take part if I’m not interested in ICF accreditation?

You’re most welcome. More than anything, it is live, honest and helpful feedback on your coaching. Some folks have been through the program more than once. Some folks have been through without pursuing accreditation, just for  their continued growth and development as a coach.

What if I can’t make a session?

If you’re unable to make one of the sessions, you’re welcome to join another session of a different cohort to make up your hours.

What is your experience with the ICF?

I’ve been through the ICF accreditation process at ACC and PCC level. I’ve trained many hundreds of executive coaches and have taken specific training in ICF Mentor Coaching.

I was immediately put at ease by the strong connection I felt with George from the beginning. His style resonated with me due to our shared values and his flexible approach to coaching.

When can I schedule my individual sessions for?

You’ll have 9 months from the start of the course within which to book your 2 x 90 minute individual sessions. These can take place in between the monthly group sessions, or afterwards.

Will I need to bring a recording of my coaching for the individual sessions?

Yes, the 1:1 sessions will involve reviewing a recording of your coaching. We’ll explore it together and you’ll get clear, kind, honest feedback from me, linked to the 8 ICF competencies.

I’m lacking confidence and feeling rusty. Will I fit into the group?

You will be most welcome and will likely fit right in. These groups and cohorts are a chance for us to re-invest in ourselves as coaches. To practice some skills as coaches that might need sharpening. To explore some of the ‘bad habits’ we’ve picked up since our training.

What else is involves in the ICF process?

It depends on which training path you’ve taken. You will likely need to submit an audio recording and transcript to the ICF for review, and then undertake a situational judgement exam in order to complete your accreditation process. This program includes a video course which shares my experience and guidance to help you navigate the process.

I’m not yet trained or qualified as a coach. Does this course work for me?

No. This course is perfect for coaches who have already been through foundational training in coaching. It is not a replacement for training, but a form of continued development and deepening of skills for coaches.

I’ve already obtained my ACC. Does this program work for re-accreditation?

You’ll need 10 hours of mentor coaching across 3 years to renew your credential. This program will offer that, and you’ll be most welcome to join us. I’ll pitch my feedback to you based on where you are on your journey.

I’m neurodiverse and have some specific requirements or requests for how I learn. Can you accommodate?

I’ll do my very best to support you to create the most helpful learning environment for you. Through a call or an email, please let me know what can be done to best accommodate how you like to process, learn and practice your coaching. We will contract as a group to explore what we individually need. 

My question isn’t on the list. How can I get in contact?

Drop me a message at george@edgeofcoaching.com

The programme offered both structure and freedom. In the individual sessions, George helped me to develop my ability to analyse my client recordings, improve my contracting skills and offer more in depth support to my clients. 

I now feel ready to begin the ICF ACC accreditation process.

Register Your Interest Here